Latest Posts / Personal Blog

One Restless Dawn…

Vagabond dreams wander in through my front door, tracking clay from the east with their ragged leather boots; they blow their seductive smoke into my face. They fill my room with clouds that cling to my wool coat like a campfire–pulling me out the door.


It’s that time of year again! Time to dust off my luggage, brush up on my languages, and shake out my piggy bank. This may be my favorite part of traveling…The planning always sends goosebumps up my legs, and sets butterflies free in my stomach. I live for the thrill of the final confirmation click when buying my plane ticket, or the exciting suspense of picking countries and towns. I feel absolutely high from trip planning. Streets waiting for me to stroll them, pictures hanging in limbo waiting to be captured, and stories waiting to be told.

In two months, I will be taking myself on a little European adventure. Along this trip I will also meet up with some old friends and travel with them.

Travel Writer Tarah Deva WindsweptMy days will vary from paddling past castles along the Dordogne River in France, to living with an Italian family in the hills above the Italian Riviera, to riding a scooter through the wineries in the bordeaux region, to biking through Amsterdam, to exploring the mystic antiquity of prague, and relaxing in the famous baths of Budapest.

Get ready to follow me through Europe from the middle of May to the middle of June! Allons-y!


 

There are hours when every thing creaks

when chairs stretch their arms, tables their legs
and closets crack their backs, incautiously

Fed up with the polite fantasy
of having to stay in one place
and stick to their stations

Humans too, at work, or in love
know such aches and growing pains
when inner furnishings defiantly shift

As decisively, and imperceptibly, as a continent
some thing will give, croak or come undone
so that everything else must be reconsidered

One restless dawn, unable to suppress the itch
of wanderlust, with a heavy door left ajar
semi-deliberately, and a new light teasing in

Some piece of immobility will finally quit
suddenly nimble on wooden limbs
as fast as a horse, fleeing the stable.

~Yahia Lababidi 

Leave a Reply

